Jump to Search Jump to Navigation Jump to Content

CET Governance

The dedication and engagement of the CET Strategic Advisory Board and the CET Technical Working Group is central to our success. Members of these committees are nominated from industry and within our collaborative partner organisations.

The CET is part of the School of Earth Sciences and operates under UWA policies and regulations for Centres and Institutes.

Please see attached the Constitution of the Centre For Exploration Targeting Strategic Advisory Board

CET Constitution


Strategic Advisory Board

The CET Strategic Advisory Board provides advice to the School on research themes and strategic direction. Its constitution outlines its role and mission, and members are drawn from industry, academia, and government partners.


 Strategic Advisory Board members

Steve Beresford (Chair)

Independent Consultant

Samantha Tough
Pro VC Engagement UWA

Annette George

Head of School, School of Earth Sciences UWA
Deb Lord
Valuation and Resource Management

Will Robinson
Encounter Resources

Steffen Hagemann
CET - School of Earth Sciences UWA

Simon Johnson

John Vann
Anglo American

Chris Wijns
First Quantum Minerals

Alison Morley
 Rio Tinto


Technical Working Group

The CET Technical Working Group provides advice on the technical relevance of CET research and makes comment on new opportunities and ways to enhance the research outcomes for use by industry. Its members comprise senior industry representatives and individuals, plus colleagues from the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation and the Geological Survey of Western Australia.  


Technical Working Group members

Chris Wijns (Chair) First Quantum Minerals
Ed Baltis Independent Consultant 
Steve Barnes CSIRO
Barry Bourne
Terra Resources
Mark Doyle AngloGold Ashanti
Steve Garwin Independent Consultant
Howard Golden Independent Consultant
John Hart
Rio Tinto
Jon Hronsky Western Mining Services
Jamie Rogers
Northern Star
Dave Lawie IMDEX
Asmita Mahanta
Philippa Sivwright
Paul Polito
Independence Group (IGO)
Steffen Hagemann CET - UWA
Gary Snow Gold Fields Australasia  
Mark Miller Newcrest
Lisa Vella Rock Solid Geophysics
Klaus Gessner GSWA 
Simon Johnson GSWA 
Fiona Best  South32 
Nick Hayward  Teck