Jump to Search Jump to Navigation Jump to Content


Dec 20, 2018



ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)

Good news was delivered during the 2018 ARC Discovery Program announcements. Mark Lindsay, a postdoctoral Research Fellow at the CET was successful in his application for a Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA). The funded project is titled “Optimising the use of geophysical data for modelling the Australian crust” and seeks to determine the optimal use of geophysical methods to model the Australian crust in four dimensions. These models provide an understanding of the tectonic history of a region and thus its mineral potential. As undiscovered mineral resources are mostly undercover, geophysics is a key dataset used to locate them. This project plans to combine recent developments in modelling geological uncertainty with data acquired for locating zones of mineralisation. Some forms of mineralisation are difficult to detect with individual geophysical techniques, so the intended outcome is to determine which data combinations are the most effective. Results have the potential to guide government policy and industry practices in data collection and use by providing a value-of-information (“VoI”) estimate to obtain insight into which methods are most cost effective where and in what exploration or mining scenarios.

Mark’s project currently has funding for three years through the ARC, and will commence in April 2019. There are PhD and MSc research opportunities for project collaboration and Mark will also be working with CET researchers Mark Jessell and Jeremie Giraud on the MinEx CRC and Loop ARC Linkage projects. For more information, contact mark.lindsay@uwa.edu.au

ARC Discovery Projects

‘Magma dynamics and ore deposits (Monash Uni)’

This project aims to advance knowledge on magma transport mechanisms through the Earth’s lithosphere, and boost predictive capacity to discover new ore deposits. Using field surveys, three-dimensional reflection seismic data, laboratory experiments and rock fracture mechanics, this project will investigate where, how and why, narrow finger-like conduits form in lithosphere-scale magma plumbing systems. The project expects to generate new knowledge on the formation and location of highly valuable ore deposits of nickel, copper, cobalt and platinum group elements, which are preferentially trapped in poorly understood, finger-like magma conduits. Anticipated outcomes of the project include fundamental insights into how magma transport dynamics control traps for magmatic sulfide ores as well as equipping mineral explorers in targeting their search for these important, but hard to find, ore deposits, benefiting society through future discoveries of economically strategic, new commodities.

Prof. Sandi Cruden, Assoc. Prof. Marco Fiorentini, Dr Stephen Barnes, Dr Andrew Bunger, Prof. Christopher Jackson

'Aqueous fluids in the deep earth (Monash Uni)

This project aims to improve our understanding of the role of fluids in controlling exchanges between the deep Earth, shallow rocks, and atmosphere. The project expects to investigate some of the key weaknesses in the thermodynamic models that are used to predict the behaviour of sulphur, carbon and metals in fluids at high pressure and temperature by using recent advances in computational and experimental (geo)chemistry. Integrated in large-scale geodynamic models, the more reliable predictions will provide a more realistic assessment of the role of sulphur in controlling metal endowment and atmospheric chemistry through geological times. This should provide a useful guide for mineral exploration and planetary science.

Prof. Joel Brugger, Dr Yuan Mei, Dr Weronika Gorczyk, Dr Marion Louvel, Dr Chris Gonzalez, Prof. David Sherman (Monash Uni)

ARC Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities (LIEF)
‘The Western Australian ThermoChronology Lab (Curtin Uni)’
This project aims to facilitate novel geochronological research in diverse areas of Earth and planetary science by providing a world-first triple-dating instrument facility. Combining three independent radiometric dating methods, the facility will undertake research to advance our understanding of the origin and evolution of the Earth and other planets, and provide tools to enhance exploration for Earth’s resources. Expected outcomes include the formation of a strong collaborative facility for academic, government and industry research and a further strengthening of Australia’s position as an international research and education leader in the field of geochronology. It will lead to an improved understanding of the evolution of Earth’s surface, and the formation and distribution of mineral and petroleum resources.

Dr Martin Danisik, Prof. Noreen Evans, Prof. Brent McInnes, Assoc. Prof. Chris Kirkland, Prof. ZX Li, Assoc. Prof. Marco Fiorentini, Dr Mike Wingate




CET Alumni Yongjun Lu - Awarded the Waldemar Lindgren Award, 2018 by the Society of Economic Geologists. This award goes to an individual under the age of 37 in recognition of published research that represents an outstanding contribution to economic geology. The Society annually confers honours upon members of the geological profession and/or allied professions, who in the opinion of the Council have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of economic geology.


Anthony (Tony) Kemp – Honoured with a Geological Society of America Fellowship. ‘For his contributions to our understanding of granite petrogenesis and the growth and evolution of continental crust.’


Johannes Hammerli – Awarded the Paul Niggli medal for 2018. Switzerlands‘s most prestigious ‘young scientist award’ in the Earth Sciences.


Jeremie Giraud – Nick Rock Memorial Prize awarded to the student who, among those completing the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in UWA geophysics, is judged to have completed the most outstanding piece of research in the fields of numerical geology or computer modelling in geoscience.


The Society of Economic Geologists (SEG) student grant winners in 2018 were Greg Poole, Eliza Smith and Lilly-Kendall-Langley. Also visiting student Veronica Trevisan.


Mike Tedeschi awarded 2nd place for his oral presentation at the SEG meeting in Denver in August


Jordan McDivitt for the best journal paper (David Elliot Prize) from the Canadian Tectonics Group for their paper ‘The Structural Evolution of the Missanabie-Renabie Gold District: Pre-orogenic Veins in an Orogenic Gold Setting and Their Influence on the Formation of Hybrid Deposits’ published in Economic Geology.


UWA-RTIO patent by Wedge, D., Paine, M., Lewan, A., Holden E-J, Green, T. (2018) “A Method and System for Validating Logging Data for a Mineral Sample”, (WO 2018/136998 A1) and another has been filed titled ‘A method and system for sample classification.’


2018 Ph.D. completions: Dr. Heta Lampinen.